Home Care Package Basics

The Home Care Packages program is a government-subsidised program that provides long-term support for older people who want to stay living at home. Home Care Packages are flexible – you get to choose the services and support that will make a difference to your life.

Home Care Package levels

There are four levels of Home Care Package for different levels of care and support needs are based on your needs as determined by an ACAT assessment.

  • Level 1 for basic care needs
  • Level 2 for low-level care needs
  • Level 3 for intermediate care needs
  • Level 4 for high-level care needs.

Each level receives a different amount of government funding. The higher the level, the more funding the government pays on your behalf, allowing you to buy more services.

To get a Home Care Package, you need to have an assessment, which will decide what level of package you’re eligible for. If your needs increase, you may be re-assessed for a higher level package.

How it works

Home Care Package funds aren’t paid to you directly. Instead, you choose an approved Home Care Package provider to administer the funds on your behalf and give you ‘case management’ support and advice.

Choosing between a Home Care Package and the Commonwealth Home Support Program

Home Care Packages and the Commonwealth Home Support Program (CHSP) both give you support to stay at home. But there are differences between the programs.

With the CHSP, you:

  • choose from a set menu of services – there isn’t much flexibility
  • only pay for the services you use
  • can dip in and out of the program as you need things.

With a Home Care Package:

  • a case manager or case adviser helps you understand the system and work out a Care Plan
  • you decide how to spend the funding you get, rather than choosing from a menu
  • once you have a package, it stays in place for the long term.